Skip to main content

Victims-Frequently Asked Questions



Frequently Asked Questions


  • The Victim Of Record is the direct victim of the offense for which the offender is incarcerated and was identified as such by the county prosecuting attorney's office where the offense too place.

  • An Involved Party is a surviving spouse, guardian, parent of the Victim of Record, or a person otherwise identified by the Courts.

  • If you are the Victim of Record or Court designated Involved Party, you can contact our office and receive assistance.
  • Upon completion of the determinate portion of their sentence, offenders are eligible for release on parole supervision. The date they fullfill the determinate portion of their sentence is referred to as their Parole Eligibility Date. The determinate portion of the sentence is set by the Court at the time of sentencing.

  • Parole hearings are normally scheduled approximately six months prior to the offender's parole eligibility date.

  • An offender may have a Medical Parole hearing scheduled in the event that they become permanently incapacitated or terminally ill, prior to fulfilling the determinate portion of their sentence.
  • Parole Commission hearings are subject to the Idaho Open Meeting Law.

  • Parole hearings for offenders scheduled to be seen in person by the Commission are open to the public.

  • No one under 16 years of age is allowed to attend parole hearings. Any exceptions must have prior approval from the Executive Director to attend a hearing.

  • Parole hearings held in Executive Session are not open to the public per Idaho Code § 20-213A. You do have the right to submit written documentation for the Commission to review during Executive Session.
  • You have a right to attend all hearings open to the public.

  • You must comply with all Idaho Department of Correction Guidelines to enter any of the facilities.

  • For a list of requirements to enter an Idaho Department of Correction facility and attend a parole hearing, please click here.
  • Yes, you may have supporters accompany you to the hearing.

  • Those accompanying supports must be 16 years of age or older and must adhere to the Idaho Department of Correction's visitation policies. For a list of requirements to enter an Idaho Department of Correction facility and attend a parole hearing, please click here.
  • The Victim Coordinator will attend the hearing with you, to offer support and guidance throughout the hearing process.

  • Please contact our office at 208-334-2520, or email ParoleVictimServices@idoc.idaho.gov, if plan to attend the hearing.
  • Hearing schedules noting the date, time, and location of parole hearings are posted on the Parole Commission's webpage seven (7) working days prior to the beginning of the monthly hearing session. For a copy of current schedules please click here and select the hearing month.

  • Due to the large number of hearings conducted each month, hearing schedules will not be available any sooner than severn (7) days prior to the beginning of the monthly hearing session.

  • Morning session begins at 8:30 a.m. and afternoon session 1:00 p.m.. We do our best to keep your wait times short, however, please understand there may times that you will have to wait for your hearing to be conducted.
  • Those attending the parole hearing will be brought into the hearing room and seated. Then the offender will be brought into the room.

  • The Commissioner chairing the hearing will announce the hearing and explain the format of the hearing.

  • If the offender has family in attendence, a family representative will be provided an opportunity to speak on his/her behalf.

  • The Commissioners will then ask the offender a series of questions. Keep in mind that the Commissioners ask the offender discuss their crime(s) and ask them specific questions regarding the crime(s). In addition, questions will be asked about the offender’s behavior in prison, their criminal history, parole plan, and any other questions deemed necessary when making the decision to grant or deny the offender release on parole.

  • Upon the conclusion of the Commissioner's questioning of the offender, one (1) victim/victim representative will be permitted to speak. Victims/victim supporters are given given approximately one (1) minute to speak, as is the offender's family representative.

  • Upon conclusion of the victim/victim representative's testimony, all parties will be asked to step out of the room to the waiting area.

  • Upon conclusion of the Commissioners' deliberation, all parties will return and the decision will be delivered.
  • Please let Parole Commission staff know whether you plan to attend by calling (208) 334-2520 and ask to speak with the Victim Coordinator, or email ParoleVictimServices@idoc.idaho.gov.

  • When calling let us know if anyone else will be in attendance with you.

  • Download and complete the Victim Impact Statement. Take some time when doing this, truly reflecting upon how the offender's actions have impacted your life. This will be your guide when making your statment at the hearing.

  • Attendance at hearings is limited by fire code regarding maximum capacity limitations. If both victims and supporters plan to attend, there could be a limit regarding how many can come into the room during the hearing.
  • If you attend the hearing the offender will be in the same room. The Commissioners will direct offender not to look anywhere but at the Commissioners, however, you will be in the same room.

  • If you chose to make a statment at the hearing, the offender will hear your statement.

  • If you are not confortable making a statement, the Victim Coordinator will present the statement on your behalf.

  • If you are not comfortable attending the hearing, you can submit your Victim Impact Statement and the Victim Coordinator will present the statement to the Commission on your behalf.
  • If at a live hearing, the Commission decision will be read during the hearing.

  • If the hearing was conducting in Executive Session, the decisions will be posted on the Parole Commission webpage under the Commission Decisions tab.

  • All decisions are posted on the Parole Commission webpage under the Commission Decisions tab five (5) working days after the conclusion of the monthly hearing session.

  • To view Commission decisions click here.
  • If the Commission has your current address, you will receive a letter approximately five (5) days prior to the offender's actual release date from prison.

  • If you move and the Commission does not know until a letter is returned undeliverable, we cannot notify you that the offender is being released.

  • Click here to update your contact information. Please include the offender name, IDOC number, your name, address, phone number, email address, and case number in your email.

  • We strongly encourage you to sign up for VINE. VINE is a free notification service that provides automated phone and/or email updates on offender movement status changes.