Skip to main content

Pardon Application Information


A PARDON IS AN ACT OF CLEMENCY WHICH RESTORES A PERSON'S CIVIL RIGHTS. THE PARDON DOES NOT EXPUNGE, REMOVE, OR REDUCE THE CRIME(S) FROM THE APPLICANT'S CRIMINAL HISTORY. IT ONLY NOTES THE CRIME(S) HAS BEEN PARDONED.

**IF APPLYING FOR A PARDON, THERE IS NO NEED TO FILE AN APPLICATION FOR FIREARM RIGHTS RESTORATION. FIREARM RIGHTS ARE RESTORED IF A PARDON IS GRANTED.


For certain convictions, civil rights are restored upon discharge of sentence. Please see Idaho Code 18-310 to see if a pardon is required to restore your civil rights before completing the pardon application. If your crime is not listed, your civil rights are automatically restored upon discharge of sentence, hence a pardon is unnecessary.

Per Idaho Code §20-240, the Commission has full and final authority grant pardons on all offenses committed and sanctioned in the state of Idaho by an Idaho Court, except the following:

  • Murder
  • Voluntary Manslaughter
  • Rape
  • Kidnapping
  • Lewd Conduct w/a Minor Child
  • Manufacture of a Controlled Substance
  • Delivery of a Controlled Substance
  • Intent to Manufacture a Controlled Substance
  • Intent to Deliver a Controlled Substance
For the above listed offenses, the Parole Commission will make a recommendation to the governor. The governor then has 30-days to make a final decision regarding the granting of a pardon. Any pardon recommendation not so approved within 30 days of the Commission's recommendation shall be deemed denied.

Requirements that must be met prior to applying for a pardon:

  • Application must be submitted no sooner than 3-years after discharge of felony and/or misdemeanor sentences on all non-violent and non-sex offense convictions.
  • Application must be submitted no sooner than 5-years after discharge of felony and/or misdemeanor sentences on all violent crimes, sex crimes, and crimes against persons.
  • Pardon requests can only be submitted once every 12-months, unless specified by the Commission.
  • All Court ordered fines, fees, and restitution must be paid in full.
  • Click here for a PARDON APPLICATION or contact the Parole Commission office for further information regarding how to obtain an application.
  • Those currently incarcerated or being supervised for a felony or misdemeanor conviction do not qualify for a pardon.

Documentation that must be submitted when applying for a pardon:

  • Completed pardon application in its entirety.
  • Identification of reason for requesting pardon.
  • Certified copies of all court judgment and conviction orders for each felony and/or misdemeanor crime listed in the request for pardon. Idaho Repository or ROA printouts from the Court will not be accepted.
  • Verification of Court ordered fines, fees, and restitution are paid in full.
  • Pardon requests may also include letters of recommendation supporting the request.
  • Incorrectly completed applications or those lacking required documentation will be returned to the applicant and not processed.

Submission of Pardon Application and all required supporting materials:

Pardon applications and all required additional documents and supporting materials are to be submitted via U.S. mail.

Mail application and all required additional documents and supporting materials to:

Idaho Commission of Pardons and Parole
3056 Elder Street
Boise, Idaho 83705

Pardon Process

  • The submission of a pardon application does not guarantee a pardon hearing.
  • Upon receipt of an eligible pardon application, the required documentation will be reviewed by the Commission at the next scheduled hearing session.
  • A written notice of the Commission’s decision will be provided to the applicant via U.S. mail, or by visiting the Parole Commission’s web site.
  • Upon reaching a decision, if the request is not denied, a pardon hearing may be scheduled.
  • If a hearing is scheduled, notice of that hearing will be published in the newspaper for four (4) consecutive weeks immediately prior to the hearing, and a copy of the publication will be mailed to the county prosecuting attorney in the originating county(s) of the case(s) requesting to be pardoned.
  • If a hearing is scheduled, the applicant and any/all victims of the crime(s) being considered for a pardon will be notified via U.S. mail of the hearing date, time, and location. The applicant's appearance at the hearing is encouraged.
  • If a hearing is scheduled, an investigation into the applicant may also be conducted.
  • The investigation may be done in person, or by electronic means, and may include, but is not limited to; criminal history since discharge or completion of sentence, employment and residence history since discharge or completion of sentence, education status, family information, community involvement, volunteer service, hobbies and related interests, and verification that all restitution and fines have been paid.

  • Pardon Process for Cases Statutorily Requiring Governor’s Approval:

    The following offenses can only be pardoned by the governor.
    • Murder
    • Voluntary Manslaughter
    • Rape
    • Kidnapping
    • Lewd Conduct w/a Minor Child
    • Manufacture of a Controlled Substance
    • Delivery of a Controlled Substance
    • Intent to Manufacture a Controlled Substance
    • Intent to Deliver a Controlled Substance

    All of the previous steps noted in the Pardon Process section will be conducted as indicated. In addition:
    • The Commission will make a recommendation to the governor.
    • All information and commission hearing summary minutes will be forwarded to the governor.
    • The governor then has 30-days to grant or deny the pardon request.
    • Any pardon recommendation not so approved within 30 days of the Commission's recommendation shall be deemed denied.


    Links to Pardon Documents, Information, and Pardon Applications: