Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Parole Commission hearings are subject to the Idaho Open Meeting Law. Parole hearings for offenders scheduled to be seen in person by the Parole Commission are open to the public. No one under 16 years of age is allowed to attend parole hearings. Any exceptions must have prior approval from the Executive Director to attend a hearing. Parole hearings held in Executive Session are not open to the public per Idaho Code § 20-213A. You do have the right to submit written documentation for the Commission to review during Executive Session.
Beginning July 9, 2018, the Parole Commission will conduct all parole and revocation hearings from the South Idaho Correctional Institution (SICI). Regardless of the institution where the offender is housed, the hearings will be conducted from SICI via video conferencing.
Anyone wishing to attend a hearing should do so at the South Idaho Correctional Institution.
For those offenders housed outside of the Boise/Nampa areas, we encourage visitors to attend at SICI. However, if the facility is able accommodate your attendance there, they will. Please contact the Parole Commission if you wish to attend video hearings at one of the following locations and we will let you know if the facility is able to accommodate you:
- Pocatello Women’s Correctional Center (PWCC) (208) 236-6360
- Idaho Falls Community Reentry Center (IFCRC) (208) 525-7143
- St. Anthony Work Camp (SAWC) (208) 624-3775
- Idaho Correctional Institution Orofino (ICIO) (208)476-3655
If you plan on attending a parole hearing, we ask that you phone the Parole Commission office at (208) 334-2520 or email firstname.lastname@example.org at least 5 days prior to the hearing and let staff know you plan on attending. Please include a contact phone number for you and your relationship to the offender.
For a list of requirements to enter an Idaho Department of Correction facility click here. You will not be required to go throught the application process, however, all other visiting rules do apply.
If you are unable to attend and would like to submit documentation for the Commission to review (i.e. letters of support, letters of opposition, residence verification, employment verification, etc.) we encourage you to do so. Per IDAPA Rule 50.04.06b, all written documents and letters to be considered must be submitted seven (7) days in advance of the scheduled hearing to ensure they are considered.
PLEASE NOTE: Communication sent to the Parole Commission may be public documents under the Idaho Public Records Act.
All information should be submitted to the Commission via email at email@example.com.
- The inmate reaching their parole eligibility date.
- The inmate completing any required institutional programming.
- The inmate's parole plan must be submitted to their District of proposed supervision.
- The parole plan must be investigated and approved by their District of proposed supervision.
- If the parole plan is not approved, the inmate must formulate a new parole plan and that plan must be investigated and approved.
- The inmate must make transportation arragements from the institution to their parole destination.
- The inmate's parole contract must be finalized.
- The inmate must sign their parole contract.
- A hearing investigator may reinstate your parole after the hearing.
- You may be required to serve a period of incarceration, then returned to parole.
- The Commission may revoke parole and require additional prison time.
- The Commission may revoke parole and grant another tentative parole date.
- The Commission may revoke parole and pass you to your full term date.
- The Commission may reinstate parole.
Yes, with some exceptions. Some county jail facilities are not equipped to accommodate multiple parties, beyond the hearing officer and the supervising parole officer. In these situations, the hearing officer must defer to the facility commander to determine whether they can reasonably accommodate visitors without compromising security.
NOTE: If you are a witness to any of the allegations and intend to offer testimony during the hearing, it is important that you notify the hearing officer in advance of your intent to be present, so that arrangements can be made to ensure you have the opportunity to testify. It is also recommended that you contact the facility to notify them of your intent to be present.
Early discharges requests must be submitted through the parolee’s parole officer.